Young Playwrights Festival

Each year, FST receives play submissions by playwrights ages 5-18 from around the world, submitted through FST's award-winning WRITE A PLAY program.

In selecting winners, FST looks for plays with an imaginative plot and character, a strong sense of rhythm in the dialogue, innate wisdom, and diverse themes. The most exemplary plays submitted by students in grades K-6 are produced in a full-scale, professional production. 

The year-long program culminates with FST’s Annual Young Playwrights Awards Ceremony each spring, where students, their families, educators, playwrights, and dignitaries will come together virtually to celebrate the outstanding plays created over the course of the year.

Click here to download the WRITE A PLAY submission packet.

Congratulations to our 2023 Winning Playwrights! Click the "2023 Winners" tab above for a full list of our winning titles and playwrights.

Congratulations to our 2023 winning young playwrights! 

UNDER SIX Winners: Kindergarten-6th Grade

Sharing Joy
by Alyannah Dixon
Bay Haven School of Basics Plus, Ms. Wedebrock – 3rd Grade

The Big Situation
by Isabelle Fishman
Pineview School, Ms. Abeysakra - 3rd Grade

The Boy Who Wanted to Dance Ballet
by Alma Gilbo
Shelanu School, Telmond, Israel, Bar Bracha Menashe – 6th Grade

The Big Dance
by Layla Vaughn
McNeal Elementary, Mrs. Freeman – 3rd Grade

The Power of PB and J
by Ivan Gorodnitchev
Bay Haven School of Basics Plus, Ms. Wedebrock – 3rd Grade

Raphael’s Orchard
by Ofek Alon
Shelanu School, Telmond, Israel, Bar Bracha Menashe – 6th Grade

The Office Party
by Ms. Bolstridge’s and Mrs. Solum’s Class
Brentwood Elementary School- 3rd Grade

The Donut Adventure
by Mrs. Buchoffer’s Class
Holy Name School, Camden, NJ – 3rd Grade


UNDER SIX: Honorable Mentions

Taco Heroes
by Untred Garner
Bay Haven School of Basics Plus, Ms. Wedebrock- 3rd Grade

River Gold
by Riley Lukachyk and Allison Fleener
Fruitville Elementary School, Mrs. Valach- 4th Grade

Annabelle and the Acorn Tree
by Victor Gierlachowski, Riley Bornhorse, Kian Brady, Hailey Fernandes, Dylan Welling and Henry D’Hondt
Ashton Elementary School, Ms. Griffith - 2nd Grade

Willo and Lilly’s Journey
by Cameron Caff
Pinevew School, Ms. Abeysakra - 3rd Grade

Bathroom Troubles
by Jasmine Mendoza
Dreamers Academy, Ms. DeVeau-Biter and Ms. Ortega – 3rd Grade


SEVEN UP Winners: Middle and Highschool

The Hamster and Daniel
by Diego Gonzales
Riverview High School, Mr. A– 9th Grade

Rules of Theatre
by Kubrick Croce
Hackley Schoo, Tarrytown, NY, Ms. Maddox – 7th Grade

A New Planet in the System
by Marcus Aurelien, Alanna Leissner, and Sage Sniegocki
Riverview High School, Mr. A – 12th and 9th grade

by Ottis Jackson
Booker Middle School, Mrs. Mills- 8th Grade

Kyle the Unicorn and the Stupid Little Kids
by Elle Singerman, Bille Shelks, Sy Pornasadoro, Jaden Philipi, Lesly Mariana Penagos Gonzalez, Ella Nastoff, Piper Mulligan, Haley Keigher, Alexa De Luna, Carver Cleveland, Eduardo Cavazos, Emurhi Arcadi, Olivia Andrzejewki-Wilson, Mackenzie Summers, and Zahara Sir
Booker Middle School, Mrs. Mills- 6th, 7th, and 8th Grade

by Anna Brodoska and Aubrey Bland
Incarnation Catholic School, Ms. Christenson- 7th Grade

by Matrick Thorpe
Pineview School, Mrs. Light- 10th Grade


SEVEN UP: Honorable Mentions

Dessert Bandit
by Violet Weiser
Cardinal Mooney High School, Mrs. Turley- 9th Grade

Where is the Love
by Gracie Lockey
Matanzas High School, Ms. Jones- 12th Grade

by Evie Cantalamessa
Riverview High School, Mr. A- 12th Grade

Nightmare at Grandmas House
by Elliana Charles
Manatee School for the Arts Mr. Bajjaly – 6th Grade

Submit Your Play!

For guidelines on how to submit your play to the 2023 Young Playwrights Festival playwriting competition, click here. Priority deadline for submitting your play: February 24, 2023.


Each year, the WRITE A PLAY experience culminates on Florida Studio Theatre’s five-theatre campus with Young Playwrights Festival (YPF) Day, an annual celebration of children’s imagination and creativity. Participating students, teachers, and families from across the state of Florida and from as far as Scotland and Israel, come together to enjoy live performances of the year’s winning plays. Following these live performances, playwrights are honored in an awards ceremony and are presented with certificates and medals on stage.

For any questions and more information, contact Shelby Lynhall at [email protected] or by calling 941.366.9797.


Young Playwrights Festival in the News

April 15, 2022  I  SUNCOAST VIEW  I  FST Presents Collection of Award-Winning Plays Written by Young Playwrights

April 24, 2022  |  SARASOTA HERALD TRIBUNE  |  A Salute for Florida Studio Theatre's Young Playwrights Award Winners

May 6, 2022  I SRQ MAGAZINE  I  Creating a Home For All

May 10, 2022  I EAST COUNTY OBSERVER  I  Braden River High teacher and students earn Florida Studio Theatre's Write A Play awards