Young Playwrights Festival

Over the course of the 2017-2018 season, FST received plays written by over 4,500 young playwrights, aged 5-18. Each play is read at least twice by FST staff members and community volunteers, seeking those that reveal the unique voice of the child who wrote it- a play that no adult could write. In selecting winners, FST looks for plays with an imaginative plot and character, a strong sense of rhythm in the dialogue, innate wisdom, and diverse themes.

The most exemplary plays submitted by students in grades K-6 are produced as a full-scale, professional production. This season our Under Six production, titled The Boy Who Liked Pulling Hair, will be presented to the public and in our WRITE A PLAY subscription.

To see all the winning plays from 2018, click here.

Examples of 2017/2018 Winning Plays:

A "Beary" Big Adventure by Viviana Serrano
Garden Elementary, Mrs. Buckalter- 4th Grade

Baseball Field by Leighton Paul
Wakeland Elementary, Ms. Lyons– 3rd Grade

Case File 402: Love Is Blind by Matrick Thorpe
Pine View School, Mr. Vitkus– 5th Grade

Crayons by Juan Palma
Fruitville Elementary, Mrs. Dendy– 5th Grade

How To Make a Milkshake by Joe Hagney
Gulf Gate Elementary, Ms. Hazen- 1st Grade

The Mom That Couldn't Cook by Reece Lanum
Garden Elementary, Mrs. Kern- 3rd Grade

Our Imaginary Friends by Maggie Layman
Island Village Montessori School, Ms. Almu & Mr. Bobby – 5th Grade

Submissions for the 2018 Young Playwrights Festival are closed.

Submission Guidelines & Cover Sheet

This year FST is proud to have award winning Director and Playwright Emily Mann attend the Young Playwrights Festival.

EMILY MANN Multi-award-winning Director and Playwright Emily Mann is in her 27th season as Artistic Director and Resident Playwright of the Tony Award winning McCarter Theatre Center in Princeton, New Jersey.  Her plays include: Having Our Say, adapted from the book by Sarah L. Delany and A. Elizabeth Delany with Amy Hill Hearth (Hull-Warriner Award, Peabody Award, Christopher Award; Tony awards, Outer Critics, Drama Desk award nominations); Execution of Justice (Bay Area Theatre Critics Award, Playwriting Award from the Women’s Committee of the Dramatists Guild, Burns Mantle Yearbook Best Play Citation, Drama Desk nomination); Still Life (six Obie Awards); Annulla, An Autobiography; Greensboro (A Requiem); an adaptation of I.B. Singer’s novel Meshugah; and Mrs. Packard (Kennedy Center’s Fund for New American Plays).  Adaptations: Scenes from a Marriage (Drama League Award nomination), Uncle Vanya, The Cherry Orchard, A Seagull in the Hamptons, The House of Bernarda Alba, Baby Doll, and Antigone. Currently Ms. Mann is working on a new documentary play titled Hoodwinked and a play about Gloria Steinem, commissioned by Lincoln Center Theatre. She was awarded a Princeton University Honorary Doctorate of Arts; a 2015 Helen Merrill Distinguished Playwrights' Award; and a 2015 Margo Jones Award given to a "citizen-of-the-theatre who has demonstrated a lifetime commitment to the encouragement of the living theatre everywhere”.

Through FST's partnership with the Chautauqua Institution we are proud to announce a winning playwright! Fletcher Third Grader Wins Young Playwrights Festival Award