Update browser for a secure Made experience

It looks like you may be using a web browser version that we don't support. Make sure you're using the most recent version of your browser, or try using of these supported browsers, to get the full Made experience: Chrome, Firefox, Safari, or Edge.

Each year, the WRITE A PLAY experience culminates on Florida Studio Theatre’s five-theatre campus with Young Playwrights Festival (YPF) Day, an annual celebration of children’s imagination and creativity. Participating students, teachers, and families from across the state of Florida and from as far as Scotland and Israel, come together to enjoy live performances of the year’s winning plays. Following these live performances, playwrights are honored in an awards ceremony and are presented with certificates and medals on stage.

Submit Your Play!

For guidelines on how to submit your play to the 2023 Young Playwrights Festival playwriting competition, click here. Priority deadline for submitting your play: February 24, 2023.

I want FST's WRITE A PLAY program to be in every city and town across America.

-Teresa Eyring, Executive Director, Theatre Communications Group

2023 Winning Young Playwrights

UNDER SIX Winners: Kindergarten-6th Grade

Sharing Joy
by Alyannah DixonBay Haven School of Basics Plus, Ms. Wedebrock – 3rd Grade

The Big Situation
by Isabelle Fishman and Katherine KimballPineview School, Ms. Abeysakra 3rd Grade

The Big Dance
by Layla VaughnMcNeal Elementary, Mrs. Freeman – 3rd Grade

The Power of PB and J
by Ivan GorodnitchevBay Haven School of Basics Plus, Ms. Wedebrock – 3rd Grade

Raphael’s Orchard
by Ofek AlonShelanu School, Telmond, Israel, Bar Bracha Menashe – 6th Grade

The Office Party
by Ms. Bolstridge’s and Mrs. Solum’s ClassBrentwood Elementary School – 3rd Grade

The Donut Adventure
by Mrs. Buchoffer’s ClassHoly Name School, Camden, NJ – 3rd Grade


SEVEN UP Winners: Middle and High School

The Hamster and Daniel
by Diego Gonzales
Riverview High School, Mr. A– 9th Grade

Rules of Theatre
by Kubrick Croce
Hackley Schoo, Tarrytown, NY, Ms. Maddox – 7th Grade

A New Planet in the System
by Marcus Aurelien, Alanna Leissner, and Sage Sniegocki
Riverview High School, Mr. A – 12th and 9th grade

by Ottis Jackson
Booker Middle School, Mrs. Mills - 8th Grade

Kyle the Unicorn and the Stupid Little Kids 
by Elle Singerman, Bille Shelks, Sy Pornasadoro, Jaden Philipi, Lesly Mariana Penagos Gonzalez, Ella Nastoff, Piper Mulligan, Haley Keigher, Alexa De Luna, Carver Cleveland, Eduardo Cavazos, Emurhi Arcadi, Olivia Andrzejewki-Wilson, Mackenzie Summers, and Zahara Sir
Booker Middle School, Mrs. Mills - 6th, 7th, and 8th Grade

by Anna Brodoska and Aubrey Bland
Incarnation Catholic School, Ms. Christenson- 7th Grade

by Matrick Thorpe
Pine View School, Mrs. Light- 10th Grade

UNDER SIX: Honorable Mentions

Taco Heroes 
by Untred GarnerBay Haven School of Basics Plus, Ms. Wedebrock- 3rd Grade

River Gold
by Riley Lukachyk and Allison Fleener
Fruitville Elementary School, Mrs. Valach- 4th Grade 

Annabelle and the Acorn Tree
by Victor Gierlachowski, Riley Bornhorse, Kian Brady, Hailey Fernandes, Dylan Welling and Henry D’Hondt
Ashton Elementary School, Ms. Griffith - 2nd Grade

Willo and Lilly’s Journey 
by Cameron Caff
Pinevew School, Ms. Abeysakra - 3rd Grade

Bathroom Troubles 
by Jasmine Mendoza
Dreamers Academy, Ms. DeVeau-Biter and Ms. Ortega – 3rd Grade

Attack of the Gingerbreads 
by Adam Gratzer
Manatee School for the Arts, Mr. Bajjaly – 6th Grade

Kitchen Crazy
by Dominick DeCastro and Gabriel Ibarra
Toledo Blade Elementary School, Ms. Kinkin - Grade 3

SEVEN UP: Honorable Mentions

Dessert Bandit 
by Violet Weiser
Cardinal Mooney High School, Mrs. Turley- 9th Grade

Where is the Love 
by Gracie Lockey
Matanzas High School, Ms. Jones- 12th Grade

by Evie Cantalamessa
Riverview High School, Mr. A- 12th Grade

Nightmare at Grandmas House 
by Elliana Charles
Manatee School for the Arts Mr. Bajjaly – 6th Grade